Alle-Kiski Valley Sports Hall of Fame unveils promotion 2022


Friday, December 24, 2021 | 10:01 am

After two years of covid postponements, the Alle-Kiski Valley Sports Hall of Fame is determined to hold its 51st induction banquet on May 21, 2022.

The event will take place in the Ballroom of the Quality Inn of New Kensington with 10 new inductees in the hall.

Here is the class of inductees, listed in alphabetical order:

Chris Como

As part of Burrell’s incredible 15-year reign as a WPIAL wrestling champion as either a head or assistant coach, Como guided the program from 1998 to 2009. While as a head coach, his teams have won four WPIAL titles and have participated in seven consecutive finals. He was named WPIAL and PIAA Coach of the Year. Graduated from Burrell in 1989, Como was an All-American wrestler in Pitt-Johnstown.

Jeff Cortileso

A notable lineman at Leechburg in the mid-1970s, he remains the only Blue Devils player named to the Big 33 All-Star. Cortileso played in three consecutive AIC Bowl games and received a scholarship to Virginia- Western, playing for the Mountaineers in the 1975 Peach Bowl and then officiating high school games.

Harry “Shorty” Crytzer

At 94, Crytzer will become the hall’s second longest-serving inductee. He was a three-sports letterer at Freeport, dropping out of school after his freshman year to serve in World War II with the Naval Air Corps. Upon his release, Crytzer embarked on a long career as a player coach and later as manager of the American Legion, guiding Freeport to the 1960 State Finals. There was also a scout. of the Pittsburgh Pirates.

Robert foster

A star of the Highland track, Foster won back-to-back WPIAL 100 and 200-meter titles in 1998-99, with PIAA titles in 1999 in both events. Still holds the WPIAL 100 record. At the University of Houston he achieved All-American status and set the school record in the 200-meter indoor with a run of 21.21 seconds and also excelled in show jumping events.

Diane haney

As the Kiski region softball coach from 1993 to 2014, she had a career mark of 248-128-1, winning 12 section titles, earning 15 WPIAL playoff appearances and recording four regular seasons without. defeat. His Cavaliers were WPIAL finalists in 1995. Haney has served on the support staff of several sports organizations as a swim instructor, team statistician, Special Olympics coach, YMCA board member and Moreover.

Rich Kriston

Fox Chapel never had a winning season in football until Kriston arrived from 1969-1971. He still holds the Foxes’ rushing records at 3,125 yards and touchdowns with 45 and has been three times heavyweight section champion in wrestling. As a Penn State linebacker, he played in the Orange, Cotton and Sugar bowls. He died in 2013.

Frank phelps

During his association with Burrell athletics for over 40 years as a head coach and assistant, his athletes at the WPIAL Championships have won 74 medals – 24 medals in the 4 × 100 relay, 12 medals in the 4 × 400 and 38 relay individual medals. The Mount Vernon, Ill. Native saw three athletes win PIAA gold medals and the 1998 4 × 100 relay team won gold.

Terry preece

A multisport athlete in Oakmont High School, Preece has captained the Oaks in football, basketball and track and field. As a senior, he led the AK Valley in touchdowns (23) and rushing yards (1,579). Later in the school year, he won the AIC long jump and triple jump. At Grand Rapids Community College, Michigan, Preece played in the Wool Bowl.

Lizzie Suwala Shaeffer

Still the AK Valley’s all-time leading scorer in women’s basketball, Suwala Shaeffer had 2,266 points during her four-year career at Ford City. The Sabers have made the WPIAL playoffs in each of their seasons there. She was Tribune-Review Player of the Year in 2004 and went on to perform at IUP and Clarion.

Bobby White

A three-year-old football star at Freeport after being transferred from Florida, White was an All-State First Team Linebacker by the AP and UPI in 1981 after helping lead the Yellowjackets to the title game. WPIAL Class AA 1981. White captained the 1986 Penn State National Championship team and is now in charge of premium seating sales at Beaver Stadium.

Banquet tickets will be $ 30 and details will be announced at a later date.

Tags: Armstrong, Burrell, Fox Chapel, Freeport, Highlands, Kiski Area, Leechburg, Riverview